I’ve been lax about posting in 2012, in large part because frankly very little has been happening. I’ve spent minimal time in the kitchen, and what time I have spent there has been boring, unless people are suddenly interested in my ability to turn sauteed mushrooms into a pasta topping with a splash of dry white vermouth? I’ve been working on a scarf, which is supposed to look like rick rack ribbon (http://www.purlbee.com/rick-rack-scarf/) but instead looks like the record of a failed sobriety test. I did visit Harpers Ferry National Historical Park on Monday with a friend, which was nice but a bit drab:

Church in downtown Harpers Ferry
Church in downtown Harpers Ferry

I have read one book so far this year that I loved, Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan. I didn’t realize until I cracked it open that it was set in and around my hometown of Evanston, which was a nice sentiment for me. It’s the story of two high school boys, both named Will Grayson, who run into each other in downtown Chicago on an eventful winter evening. Both character’s voices (each written by a different author) felt authentic and real, and the writing managed to be both serious and fun, and tremendously poignant. A highly recommended read.

