Work’s been busy the past few weeks. Getting ready for classes to start again, and all the tasks that come with that, has been eating up a lot of my time at work. I subscribe to or follow a number of professionally-adjacent library-y blogs, newsletters, Twitter feeds, and whatnot, but in the last two weeks I haven’t had a lot of time to do more than casually browse.

What’s really been helpful in times like these has traditionally been bookmarking, but I’ve also been using my Instapaper account really heavily (a service I’ve mentioned before). I splurge-purchased the app for my iPod Touch, and have an online account with a bookmarklet as well. Basically what Instapaper does is save the text of articles to read later, so that I can access them even if I’m not online. There’s a nifty feature, too, for exporting the articles to various formats, including a Kindle compatible format.

When I encounter long-form essays that I don’t have the time to or can’t read at work, I’ll hit the “Read Later” button. If article pile up, I can sort them into folders (like ‘Libraries’ or ‘Reviews’), download a batch to my Kindle, and read them right before bed, or on my lunch break, or anytime I don’t want my laptop (or even my Touch) around.

I’m pleased to report that I’ve finally had some success with audiobooks on a recent road trip! I listened too, and very much enjoyed, the audio versions of both Mindy Kaling and Tina Fey’s recent books. Both were read by their respective authors, and I’d read the books before, so I had an idea of what was coming. Even having read the print books, I really liked hearing the authors’ voices, whether they were telling a story or representing a person featured in the book. It made a long drive seem much shorter, and I definitely laughed out loud.

