Yes, friends, that’s how far into 2012 we are: 1/12, or 0.038.

January was a good month. I stuck to my resolutions fairly well, and even had a few adventures. I’m done with my stash of soda and am moving on seltzer – I need a little bubble in my life, so just plain water or even iced tea isn’t going to cut it. I’ve been doing well on the gym and yoga, though I’m still afraid of the weight room. I’m pretty comfortable with weights, as a general rule, and even took a weight training class in college, but I’m just not feeling it at the moment. I think, like with running, I get bored if I don’t have something for my eyes to do (scenery doesn’t count).

And, adventures. You’ve already seen the photo from my spontaneous trip to Harpers Ferry and Shake Shack. I also visited T for the long weekend around Martin Luther King day, stopping in for a quick visit at my alma mater and the Maritime Aquarium, among others.

Clapp Laboratory Building at Mount Holyoke College
Clapp Laboratory Building at Mount Holyoke College
Seal at The Maritime Aquarium
Seal at The Maritime Aquarium

I also had a nice trip to Dallas for the ALA Midwinter meeting, which was challenging and exhausting. I generally like traveling alone, but it can be more stressful than having a travel companion, especially when you’re going to a new place (or have to use the restroom in the airport). It was challenging to be “on” for three days straight, making small talk, attending sessions and social events, taking notes and Tweeting and carrying heavy tote bags full of swag. I did pretty good on this last – I didn’t have to ship anything back to myself or lug an unbelievably heavy suitcase home. I even got to do a tiny bit of sightseeing and try some restaurants, though not as much as I would have liked to. I guess I’ll have to go back for a real vacation, someday!

Pegasus topper for the Magnolia Hotel in Dallas, TX
Pegasus topper for the Magnolia Hotel in Dallas, TX.
