March has ground on, slowly sapping my energy and drive. I’m headed to a showing of The Hunger Games tonight with a friend, and I’m really looking forward to it, though I’m sure I’ll regret it when I have to get up for work tomorrow. Iheld off on my initial desire to go to a midnight showing, largely because I couldn’t talk anybody else into it.

I’ve been spending a lot of time on Pinterest lately, and am especially proud of my Food ‘n Bev board. I like Pinterest better than Delicious, as I’ve said, for food and image-related bookmarking, and in trawling through my Delicious account to post recipe links and pictures to Pinterest, I’ve discovered that I have bookmarked a number of recipes multiple times, yet never made them. And these aren’t even normal, common recipes, either – it seems every time I stumble across a recipe for Welsh rarebit or a gin-based cocktail, I can’t help but want to try it. Maybe April should be a month for trying recipes like this – I suppose I could have/should have done this in February during my recipe diet, but live and learn.

There are a few nice things about spring in Maryland, before humidity has taken a real hold. For one, I can go on walks around campus after work and avoid the steamy, sometimes smelly gym. For another, flowers!

Two daffodils in a glassI saved these from the front yard. We’ve got a strip of daffodils and other plans growing across the front of the yard, along the sidewalk, and an apparently grouchy neighbor or post office employee trounced on a few plants, from which I saved the flowers. They won’t last as long as my lovely paper flowers, but they’re nice while they last.

Paper daffodils in a vase

 

