After many years living in the Chicago area and Massachusetts ( Boston and western MA), I believed I had seen it all when it came to weather. (Except heat, which I gleeful avoid whenever at all possible.) Seasons in Chicago can be extreme, and fluctuate wildly. But since moving to Maryland, I’ve experienced some crazy weather – blizzards, land hurricane, ice storms. Another prime example may be on its way, in the form of Hurricane Sandy.

On the one hand, it’s nice to have the warning to stock up on non-perishables, and the kick in the butt we needed to take care of a few things around the house, like hanging curtains in the living room and taking out the window AC in the kitchen. And really, an excuse to buy chips and boxed pasta mixes? I’ll take it! We’ve been lucky in our neighborhood, keeping power on during most storms, not much flooding in our hilly neighborhood. The worst case scenario for us is likely candlelight game night with our neighbor while we chow down on a freezer full of noms, or maybe a branch onto a car. Not ideal, obviously, but we’re in pretty good shape.

On the other hand, I hope this is a Y2K style overreaction, since bad storms are a real pain in the ass around here. Power lines in the mid-Atlantic seem to go down if you breathe funny, Baltimore drivers are truly atrocious even under ideal circumstances, and there’s no street cleaning to get the leaves out of the gutters. The storm might interfere with our hopes of getting the oven fixed soon, or other social activities we have planned in the next few days. Don’t even get me started on the mess that would be voting problems from prolonged power outages.

Either way, I’ve got my cell phone charged and plenty of kibble.

