I missed out on the Facebook trend about giving thanks for something every day of November, unfortunately. But I did have a lot to be thankful for on Thanksgiving: an abundance of food that gave us almost two meals’ worth of leftovers, a lively evening with my extended family, and gorgeous weather to top it all off. I’m lucky enough to be able to come home to a warm and cozy house (now that the heat’s back on …) at the end of every day.

T & Cookie the Cat
Warm & cozy!

I pretty much failed on my Thanksgiving  photography – I tried three new recipes and didn’t photograph a single one! I made an older Serious Eats recipe for Green Bean Casserole with a mix of white button and dried wild mushrooms; it was a success, but next time I’ll soak the dried mushrooms for longer and then chop them more finely. I also made the herb-y buttermilk biscuits from Joanne Chang’s Flour cookbook, though I put the parsley into the biscuits and put chive butter on top, and I made them drop biscuits because I couldn’t find cutters at Target! After a successful cookbook club experience with Deb Perelman’s Smitten Kitchen Cookbook, I made my own cranberry crumb bars with mulling spices, because the leftovers I brought home for T were mysteriously consumed … this book is definitely on my Christmas list!

Now that Thanksgiving has passed, I have as promised gotten a good start into my Christmas knitting. Some gift recipients read this blog, so I won’t be posting any pictures or details yet, but I’m enjoying the results so far! And our mini-fake-tree is up already, so I’m ready for presents to start rolling in 😉

Tabletop Christmas Tree
Tabletop Christmas Tree

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to listen to some Christmas music!

