More on my favorite Christmas movies! I have some vague recollections of watching Christmas specials as a really young child, such as the Rankin-Bass and Charlie Brown Christmas specials, but other than the Charlie Brown soundtrack, those haven’t really stuck with me.

Probably my top Christmas movie is “The Muppet Christmas Carol,” starring Michael Caine and the Muppets. I’m not sure when I first saw it, but we still have a battered VHS copy in a plastic case at my parent’s house, and to this day it doesn’t feel like Christmas if I haven’t seen it. I can’t even begin to explain my embarrassment when, at some point growing up, I realized Michael Caine was an actor who had been in … you know … real things? For years all I knew him from was this movie. I can’t imagine there’s anything I can add to this list of 25 Reasons “The Muppet Christmas Carol” Is The Best Carol Of Them All, but I can definitely point you in the direction of one of my favorite scenes:

Of course, some movies that make me think of Christmas aren’t really about Christmas, necessarily. One classic example is the 1994 version of “Little Women,” which I remember seeing with my mom, sister, and grandmother in theaters at some point. The opening scenes of the movie (and book!) take place around the holidays, and many of the scenes that have stuck with me take place in the cold or the snow – the March sisters’ snowball fights, Amy falling through the ice, etc. Plus, the movie is about family, especially sisterhood, a topic that is always on my mind this time of year. I can’t pick a favorite clip, but here’s the original trailer:

