Of all the Christmas baking my family does, probably my favorite item are my mom’s Crispy Molasses Sugar Cookies. I don’t know where or when she got this recipe, but I have managed to copy it down onto a battered index card for my own records. Enjoy!

Crispy Molasses Sugar Cookies

Ingredients

  • 3/4 c margarine
  • 1 c sugar (+ more for rolling)
  • 1/4 c molasses
  • 1 egg
  • 2 c flour, sifted
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Instructions

  1. Melt margarine in a 3 quart saucepan. Cool
  2. Add sugar, molasses & egg. Beat well.
  3. Sift together flour, baking soda, spices and salt. Gradually add flour mixture to molasses mixture. Mix well.
  4. Refrigerate 1-2 hours.
  5. Form chilled dough into 1 inch balls. In a shallow bowl, pour out some additional sugar. Roll 1 inch dough balls in sugar and place 2 inches apart on a greased baking sheet.
  6. Bake 8-10 minutes in a 375° oven.
