I don’t have much to say today – though I wanted to share a photo of my molasses cookies from last night, yum!

Two racks of Crispy Molasses Sugar Cookies.
Crispy Molasses Sugar Cookies!

I intended to write today about “classic” Christmas books and stories, but I realized … I don’t really have a lot of memories of Christmas stories from when I was young. I know we read this edition of The Night Before Christmas, because I remember the intense Santa from the cover, and I remember in sixth grade being able to recite it almost verbatim in class, but I don’t have any specific memories of reading or being read it.

One story I do remember reading around Christmas, though it may not be old enough to qualify as a “classic”, is Barbara Robinson’s The Best Christmas Pageant Ever, a hilarious tale of a Christmas pageant gone awry. When my sister and I were little and still shared a bedroom, my dad used to read to us every night before bed. I remember him reading us the Laura Ingalls Wilder books, specifically, and I know there were others, but The Best Christmas Pageant Ever really sticks out in my mind because of how laugh-out-loud funny it was. I don’t mean that in an insincere “lol” kind of way, but in the literal sense – my dad was laughing so loudly during parts of the book, we had trouble making progress. And I think we thought he was going to pass out, he was so loud and bright red.

Needless to say, that’s a pretty good memory.

