All things considered, I would say 2012 was a pretty good year. Obviously there were highs and lows, but overall I give last year good reviews, and I was happy to spend the last piece of it with a nice visit home and time with the people (and pets) who matter to me.

I will confess that I haven’t made any resolutions for 2013. While I would generally consider my self a planner and an organized kind of person, the idea of annual resolutions leaves me pretty uninspired. I’ve read many books on self-improvement, planning and goal-setting, and related topics, so I understand the impetus behind resolutions and what types of goals tend to be successful (specific, measurable, etc.) Two years ago I did have success with a resolution to increase the amount I donate to charities by setting specific financial amounts to be given at specific times throughout the year. In 2012 I successfully gave up my Coke-Zero-a-day habit.

This year I’m just not coming up with anything that feels pressing, or feels like it should be addressed on the scale of a Resolution. I have some vague travel plans, but so much of that will depend on work-related circumstances beyond my control … I have some professional goals but I prefer to deal with those through work planning. All of which leaves me at sort of a loss, I guess.

Although I’m still up in the air, I did find this article on conducting an annual review, from The Art of Non-Conformity, which I think is worth a read for almost anybody.

