It’s official – I’m 30! It seems to me that all the commentary leading up to turning 30 was more eventful than the birthday itself. T and I went to fondue dinner, and then watched the USA/Mexico World Cup qualifier.

Cheesy delicious fondue!
Cheesy delicious fondue!

30 doesn’t seem to be a huge deal so far, or at least, I haven’t needed a hip replacement yet. There has, however, been a lot to enjoy about September, not the least of which was the US qualifying for the 2014 World Cup. Foyle’s War is back on PBS! Cookie got a clean bill of health at the vet, and I’ve sampled some very excellent poutine.

Poutine!
Poutine!

The Red Sox are in the playoffs, and college football is back. I’m glad to have some fellow college football fans to watch games with, even if we don’t always root for the same teams, or even teams playing at the same time.

Watching football on the big screen, and keeping score on the little screens.
Watching football on the big screen, and keeping score on the little screens.

I have read some truly good books: Scott Lynch’s “The Republic of Thieves“, Rainbow Rowell’s “Fangirl” (I also loved her “Eleanor and Park“), and Elizabeth Wein’s “Rose Under Fire“. And as you can guess, there’s more to come.

Pile of books
Book overload

I’m headed home to Chicago for a few days, for the wedding of a friend. A friend since middle school, actually, a statement that makes me feel older than being 30 ever will.

